Alberta Sepsis Network Neurological Study

Today I participated in a study being conducted at the University of Lethbridge in partnership with the Alberta Sepsis Network. They are looking into the neurological impact of sepsis in ICU patients. I was the last test subject and results will be published within six months or so. I’ll keep you posted.

The study consisted of me sitting at a computer and going through a series of simple puzzle like tests/games on a touch screen computer while a PHD student watched and gave me instructions before each game/test.

I did this for about an hour and a half, and then moved onto a very boring one hour game divided into four sessions. For this part of the study I wore a cap with a 128 electrodes that were reading my brain activity. Similar ones used in a medical setting have only 8 or 10 electrodes, so this one was very detailed.

It was a very interesting day and I really enjoyed discussing my experience with the researchers. Their project is aimed at improving the future care of ICU patients and preventing sepsis deaths.

The photos are of me, the cap of electrodes and me wearing the cap during the test.

IMG_1478

IMG_1477

IMG_1479

3 thoughts on “Alberta Sepsis Network Neurological Study

  1. I am a sepsis survivor and wish to get to know others and be part of the awareness campaign. I would like to know more about the study in which you participated. I am a female senior not into social media but OK with e-mail

    Like

    1. Hi Doreen, you are my first reply to my blog! Thank you! I am a sepsis survivor too and I hadn’t even heard that term before this week. I was referred into the project through the ICU follow clinic at my local hospital. I know that they are finished testing people and that they are now moving to publishing their results.

      The Alberta Sepsis Network has a webpage with contact information for the projects, but it is a network for researchers and medical professionals, not for sepsis survivors per se. I would be happy to stay in touch with you and talk about our experiences.

      It was one of the goals of starting my blog because I can’t seem to find anyone who went through what I did and I’ve had a very lonely recovery to date.

      Like

      1. Hello Dawna,

        I hope this gets to you as I am no good a blogging. Please reply by Email if you wish it and then we can communicate directly. My telephone number is 403-452-2000 if you would like to have personal contact.

        I am into my 4th year of recovery and I know exactly those feelings of loneliness. I only know one other survivor in Alberta yet there must be so many.

        I look forward to hearing from you, Sincerely, Doreen

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment